Historic Resources Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Historic Resources Commission consists of five members appointed by the City Council. Each Commission member is appointed to a four-year term and serves at the pleasure of the Council.

The purpose of the Commission is to advise the City Council on policies, programs and procedures necessary to implement the Historic Resources Element of the Whittier General Plan. Some of the typical activities of the Commission include: making local landmark eligibility determinations for nominated buildings, structures, objects and districts; overseeing historic resource surveys; evaluating alterations and additions to historic landmark and vintage buildings; educating the public in matters relating to historic preservation and promoting awareness and protection of the City’s historic and vintage resources.

The Historic Resources Commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. The meetings are held in the City Council Chamber located on the 2nd floor in Whittier City Hall, at 13230 Penn Street, Whittier, California.

Members of the Commission Expiration of Term
Karen C. Bennett, Chair July 1, 2020
James Becerra, Vice Chair July 1, 2021
Linda de Vries July 1, 2020
Andrew Pryor July 1, 2023
Candi Nash  July 1, 2023

Sonya Lui, Principal Planner and Commission Secretary