dept banner

Public Works

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
David Schickling, Director
David Schickling

The Public Works Department is comprised of six divisions: Streets, Water, Solid Waste Disposal, Engineering, Fleet, and Civic Center Maintenance. Public Works is dedicated to contributing to a safe environment for the community by providing fast and courteous service to its customers.

  • The Street Division maintains a total of 194.6 miles of streets, including 6.4 miles of State Highway (72). In addition, this Division is responsible for maintaining streetlights, street signs, and sweeping.
    The Water Division provides water service to 48,000 customers and operates and maintains a water pumping plant that produces 8,000,000 gallons of water per day.
  • The Solid Waste Disposal Division operates the City’s landfill which can be utilized by City of Whittier residents only.
  • The Engineering Division oversees capital improvement projects pertaining to City streets and sidewalks. In addition, this division provides information pertaining to traffic and parking issues and public right-of-way. The Engineering Division also issues excavation permits, easements and property vacations.
  • The Fleet and Civic Center Maintenance Divisions maintains City-owned vehicles and buildings respectively.
  • Finally, the Sewer Division is part of Streets and is responsible for the maintenance and repair of all sewer mains throughout the City.

Public Works Responsibilities

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer